As many of you know, I hate Dunkin' Donuts. It's one of the few things in this world that I truly cannot stand. This is mostly based on things that all coffee providers share: styrofoam waste, stupid advertising, ubiquitous storefronts, and subpar products. But DD irks me, regardless of the fact that Starbucks is also ubiquitous and gas station coffee providers are basically clones of DD. You know what really kills me? The cold cups inside a styrofoam cup. You really can't stand the condensation on the outside of the cup? Really?!
But, I was still interested in trying the Dunkin' Pumpkin coffee. I figured I'd give it a shot, expecting the worst but fearing that it would be so yummy I'd have to continue purchasing cup after cup. So on Tuesday I stopped at one of the many DD stores on my way to work and picked up a small Pumpkin hot coffee for $1.50. I asked for just cream, whatever that means. I was shocked by my first sip - so sweet! I was pretty sure I asked for only cream but it tasted like a heaping spoon of sugar had been mixed in. The coffee tasted like a cheap candy bar. We all know the cheap chocolates you can get during the holidays: cheap chocolate coins, little figures like snowmen and presents made of chocolate. That waxy, not flavorful chocolate that you eat only because it's there. The coffee had a cheap-tasting flavoring and was super sweet, way overboard for what I expected. And where did that sugar come from???
I checked the website. Turns out, the following are the ingredients for my Pumpkin coffee: Brewed 100% Arabica Coffee, Pumpkin Spice Syrup [Skim Milk, Sugar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Water, Brown Sugar, Caramel Color, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Salt], Light Cream [Milk, Cream, Disodium Phosphate (Stabilizer), Sodium Citrate (Stabilizer)]. I thought I was getting coffee with cream! I didn't realize they put a shot of pumpkin syrup in with the coffee. (I figured it was pumpkin flavored beans...) In a small there are 160 calories and 18% of my daily dose of saturated fat. GEEZ.
So sure, it tastes like a candy bar. It was good, for all intents and purposes. But I'd never want that kind of supersweet drink every morning. There's a reason I take my coffee with milk only, no sugar.

